David T. Beito

David T. Beito is a Research Fellow at the Independent Institute and Professor of History at the University of Alabama. He received his Ph.D. in history at the University of Wisconsin, and he is the recipient of the Ellis Hawley Prize. Professor Beito is the author of T.R.M. Howard: Doctor, Entrepreneur, and Civil Rights Pioneer(with Linda Royster Beito), Taxpayers in Revolt: Tax Resistance during the Great Depression, and From Mutual Aid to the Welfare State: Fraternal Societies and Social Services, 1890-1967.