Dr. James W. Lark III

James W. Lark, III is a professor in the Department of Systems and Information Engineering and the Applied Mathematics Program of the Department of Engineering and Society at the University of Virginia.  He has also served as a professor in the Department of Statistics and in the McIntire School of Commerce at the University of Virginia.

He has served as a visiting scholar at the Center for the Study of Public Choice at Va. Tech, the Dept. of Mathematics at the University of California at Berkeley, and the Dept. of Mathematics at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.  He was an Earhart Foundation Visiting Fellow at the Center for Research in Government Policy and Business at the Graduate School of Management at the University of Rochester.

He is the secretary of the Board of Directors of Liberty International.  He served as chairman of the Board of Directors of the Advocates for Self-Government from 2009 until 2016.  He is a member of the Foundation for Economic Education Faculty Network.  He is a recipient of the Foundation’s 2017 Leonard E. Read Distinguished Alumni Award for Leadership.  He is a member of the Board of Advisors for Students For Liberty and the Board of Advisors of the Freedom and Entrepreneurship Foundation (Fundacja Wolnosci I Przedsiebiorczosci) in Poland.

He currently serves as the Region 5 representative on the Libertarian National Committee (the Libertarian Party’s board of directors), and as a member of the LNC’s Executive Committee.  He is the LNC’s representative to the International Alliance of Libertarian Parties.  He served as chairman of the Libertarian Party during the 2000-2002 term, and as secretary pro tem during part of the 2012-2014 term. He previously served as an LNC member during the 1998-2000, 2004-2006, 2006-2008, 2008-2010, 2010-2012, 2012-2014, and 2014-2016 terms.

Dr. Lark is a member of the Libertarian Party’s Hall of Liberty, the Party’s highest honor.  (Induction into the Hall honors lifetime or significant achievement that has made a lasting impact on the Libertarian Party and/or the libertarian movement.)  He is also the recipient of the 2004 Samuel Adams Award (given for outstanding activism), the 2008 Thomas Jefferson Award (given for outstanding leadership, high character, and dedication to the principles and goals of the Party), and the 2012 Thomas Paine Award (given for outstanding communication).  He is the only person to win each of these awards.

He currently serves as advisor to The Liberty Coalition and its constituent organizations at the University of Virginia.  He also serves as national campus coordinator for the Libertarian Party, and advises college and high school libertarians.